PDA

View Full Version : Is This Legit?


Cartesian Bear
02-02-2008, 09:53 AM
I woke up to find the mail below in my Cartesian Bear mailbox. Before I go ahead and tell them to include my shop, I thought I'd ask if anyone has heard of these people, and if they are offering a good service. Do they charge? (I won't sign up if they charge me.)

I'm suspicious because they reference PF and not my shop.

--Liz

Dear Webmaster,

We came across your website http://www.printfection.com and found it quite relevant and informative to our website. We think our visitors would be able to collect valuable information from the useful resource and content of your site. In this regards, we would like to invite you for there way link exchange with our website and enter into a mutually beneficial relationship.

AS you know that the backlinks are a strong factor in getting the higger ranking and PR in search engines.If you are interested, we would appreciate you to give a link to our website and send us the exact URL's on which you have placed the link. We would also request you to send us the details of the link that you would like to place on our website.

We would place your link in the relevant category of the following website:

http://www.online-shopping-stores.info/


Please find the Our link details as follows....

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

URL: http://www.prices4all.co.uk/

Title: Compare Prices Online
Desc: Online shopping UK is one stop solution for online shopping in the UK. Here you can compare prices for products and get best deals at lowest prices. Find best UK online shops here and enjoy shopping online.

fightingsaints
02-02-2008, 01:33 PM
I don't know if it is legit or not. My rule is that if I can't confirm them as legit I don't bother. I was burned a few years back and it was a royal pain to get rid of the hassle (spam and pushy phone calls).

Hopefully, one of the shopowners from GB can weigh in on this.

skytop
02-02-2008, 04:17 PM
i dont do links with people i dont know. every once in a while some one will IM me and chat then ask for a link. i always say no.

gp1628
02-03-2008, 09:31 AM
What they are telling you is true enough. Usually I wont do backlink trades. But then usually they are obvious efforts to just to fudge the system because their site is one which would make no sense for me to link to.

But at least this one makes sense so I would be willing to consider it a legit request for a legit reason.

lukeo25
02-03-2008, 10:15 PM
Backlinks or not I wouldn't trust an email from any business that can't spell.

Cheers
Luke